Sunday, March 8, 2009

Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake - yummy!!

I went to the Cheesecake factory for lunch the other day to meet a friend. I have not been there in years since their typical cheesecake contains wheat. But I checked and to my surprise, they have one gluten free cheesecake - the Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake. It is gluten free because it is flourless. The cheesecake has three different layers. The bottom layer, which is typically crust in most cheesecakes, is a dense layer of a thick chocolate mousse-like substance. The next layer is somewhat less dense and contains chocolate chunks. The top third of the cheesecake is a lighter chocolate cheesecake. The top is sprinkled with cocoa and a square of chocolate godiva chocolate. Yummy is all I can say! It is very rich so it took me three sittings to finish it, but it was excellent. However, I should mention that they will not guarantee that it is gluten free due to cross-contamination etc. However, I did not have any reaction to it. I did not get the whipped cream - I am not sure if it is just cream or not. I also had the Cobb Salad (skipped the vinaigrette dressing because it looked a little suspicious). The Cobb Salad was dissappointing because it was 95% lettuce, 4% egg and .05% avocado, chicken, and bacon.


  1. Just thought you should know the official stand of the establishment when asked if they offer any gluten free menu items.

    "Thank you for your interest in The Cheesecake Factory. Although we prepare dishes that we do not add wheat, oats, rye or barley, our concern is that some of our sub-ingredients may contain trace amounts of gluten, particularly imported ingredients. In addition, we do not have separate cooking equipment to prepare gluten and gluten-free items.

    Because we understand that sensitivities can vary, our managers will be happy to help you select dishes that we do not add wheat, oats, rye or barley. Our servers and managers are extremely knowledgeable about all the ingredients in our dishes. Under the strictest guidelines, we recommend non-marinated vegetables, chicken, steak, shrimp or fish, pan cooked as opposed to grilled.

    We do currently have one cheesecake that is made without any wheat or flour, our Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake. I must caution you that the spray release that we use on the pans does contain small amounts of flour, so there may be trace amounts in the crust. Also, all of our cheesecakes are produced in the same facility and we therefore cannot guarantee against cross contamination.

    We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write us and hope that you will be able to join us for a wonderful meal. Have a wonderful day!


    Craig Gumm
    Guest Services Coordinator"

  2. The Shepards Pie is gluten free. My daughter has eaten it numerous times as well the Godiva chocolate cheesecake without any ill effects. She is equisitely sensitive to cross contamination. Although they are always busy the staff is trained vigorously and work very hard to get things right.

  3. I have had the the godiva cheesecake many times and I have not had any side effects whatsoever and I am very sensitive to gluten.

  4. I have had celiac disease for over 10 years now and my boyfriend got me the best sundae that I have ever had from out back steakhouse ,the best part was that sundae had a brownie that was even gluten free and they have gluten free items on their menu!

  5. Sorry to add further evidence to Godiva cheesecake containing gluten, but the Godiva Chocolate website says: "ALL of our products including solid chocolate pieces may contain gluten. Any person with a gluten allergy should NOT consume ANY of our products". I love Lindt chocolate too, but the ingredients say contains wheat. Not all chocolate contains wheat, but some do.

  6. I thought the godiva chocolate cheesecake would be fine for me and had some last night and must say I am having a bit of a reaction. Not too bad yet, though . . .waiting to see how it all turns out.

  7. As it starts to get warmer and cherry season kicks into gear, you might yearn for the refreshing and enriching flavor of a cherry cheesecake but shudder (or sweat) at the thought of turning on the oven. With this recipe, all you need to do is mix the ingredients, chill, and savor this light dessert.

  8. Last night I was at Cheesecake Factory, excited to have the Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake, since I thought it's gluten free and here's what happened. I was told by the manager "The cocoa powder that is dusted on top of the cheesecake has wheat mixture in it, AND Godiva chocolate itself has gluten" So folks, even if you or your loved ones do not have any ill effects from eating the Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake at Cheesecake Factory, please be advised that it does contain gluten at least on two levels, the cocoa powder, and the Godiva chocolate chunks that is in the cheesecake. Not to mention it is processed on equipment/facility that also is shared with wheat/gluten. So Celiacs, please DO NOT eat this cheesecake. Those of you who are gluten intolerant, and won't die from it, go ahead, at your own will.